Successful inaugural CPTPP Commission meeting concludes in Japan

January 22, 2019

Quick facts

  • The CPTPP is a free trade agreement between Canada and 10 other countries in the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.
  • Canada is now the only G7 nation with free trade agreements with all other G7 members and with free trade access across the Americas, Europe and Asia-Pacific.
  • On December 30, 2018, the CPTPP entered into force among the first six countries to ratify the agreement: Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore. On January 14, 2019, the CPTPP entered into force for Vietnam.

Read full article

Packers have another record year

January 2, 2019

Performance for fed beef packers improved dramatically in 2017 because of ample cattle supplies and growing domestic and export demand. Tyson Beef had record income of US$877 million and other packers likely had record years. Thus, the question at the start of this year was: “How can we top that?” To most people’s astonishment, this year’s results have been even better.

Read full article